This has been one of those weeks that was great for productivity but bad for blogging! Work seems to be back at a steady pace, which is welcome. I’ve also been busy with volunteer work as a youth soccer coach and also mentoring the local intermediate school’s Future City Competition team. The Vanilla Ale is fermenting away like mad, and the Chocolate Stout was also started in a mad rush one evening. I wish I could say that I’ll be getting some rest this weekend…but there’s three soccer games to attend and a house to decorate for Halloween.

Even through all the madness, I found a few gems for this week’s compost bin:

  • So Rude: “When was the last time you did something that inconvenienced 200 people.” I may have taken precious time from my life to gripe about shopping cart rudeness, but at least cluttering up Costco’s parking lot isn’t directly putting other people in danger like the behavior documented in this short film. Something about driving in Manhattan (especially Manhattan, beyond most other cities) causes people to drive like aggressive maniacs. I know that most of us living in and near the big apple are always in a rush, but there is no place any of us need to be so important that it’s worth risking the safety of others.
  • World Science Festival 2009: Bobby McFerrin Demonstrates the Power of the Pentatonic Scale. Mindblowing stuff. I’d explain it, but words fail. You just have to watch it.
  • Follow The Glow. Great blog post about focusing on what’s truly important in your life. For me, my children, my garden, preparing good meals, and encouraging others to think towards the future are glow points.
