Sorry for the relative silence this week! Work has been busy, for a change, leaving me with little time for play. The house is a wreck, the laundry is piling up, and the kids are wondering when Mom is going to cook something wonderful. Fortunately, next week is shaping up to be a bit lighter, so I’ll have more time for fun. We’ll be bottling the Cape Cod Red and hopefully starting a new brew this weekend, and then it’s time to start getting the house ready for Halloween.

I haven’t had much of a chance to poke around the internet, but I managed to find a few offerings for this week:

  • The Awakening. Imagine how lovely a place the world could be if we all experienced an awakening while still young enough to use the knowledge to craft our lives wisely.
  • TED Talks: Rory Sutherland. Life Lessons from an Ad Man. Brilliant presentation on how we can avoid getting bored with the stuff we already have.
  • National Engineer’s Week Future City Competition. The 8th grade gifted and talented kids from my local school district are competing in the Future City Competition for the first time this year. I learned about it this week when we attended the G&T Open House for Thing 1, and I volunteered to mentor the team as an Urban Planner. I will be meeting with he kids for the first time today, and I am so ridiculously excited.
