Hubby models the new scarf, which he should not assume means it is his to keep.

Hubby models the new scarf, which he should not assume means it is his to keep.

As the cool weather settles in, I feel the call to start knitting. My first project of the season was a simple scarf made with the chunkiest of the alpaca yarn I bought earlier this summer on Martha’s Vineyard. I decided to make something with a slightly open weave, since the yarn itself was so thick and warm.

I used a basic Faggot Stitch (what an unfortunate name), which you can see here, but I only cast on 9 stitches to start with. The result is rather nice, and it is genderless, so Hubby and I can fight over who gets to use it.

This is a good start to my autumn knitting! I think my next project will be with the soft, fine yellow and green yarns Thing 1 choose for herself. I’m going to try the feather and fan pattern, which should make a pretty wave pattern for her scarf. It’s a bit beyond my current skill set, but I’m not going to improve my knitting if I don’t keep reaching for things just beyond my competency level.

