This stuff made my morning.

This stuff made my morning.

As Thing 1, Hubby, and I try to trim off the extra pounds, I’ve been seeking out ways to satisfy my sweet tooth that don’t involve whipping up enough brownies to feed an army. One trick I’ve been trying is substituting a small hot chocolate for my morning snack. This morning I tried making it with the leftover liquid from poaching the breakfast pears, and the result was too good to not share.

For this recipe you want to use a good quality drinking chocolate-one that doesn’t have powdered milk in it. I use Lake Champlain’s New World Drinking Chocolate, but really, you just want a hot chocolate mix that says to add milk rather than water.

Spice Pear Hot Chocolate
1 small teacup of hot chocolate, plus pears for eating

  • Three pears
  • 3 1″ pieces of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp whole cloves
  • 1 star anise
  • water
  • 1 tbs milk-free drinking chocolate
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • Splash of vanilla soy milk
  1. Wash pears and cut in half. Using a melon baller, remove seeds and stem.
  2. Put pears in a large pot with spices and add enough water to just cover. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Cover and simmer for 20-30 minutes, until pears are soft. Remove pears and eat (they make a great side dish to an egg sandwich for breakfast)
  3. Place chocolate in a small tea cup. Stir in maple syrup. Using a ladle, slowly add hot pear liquid, stirring as you go to make sure chocolate in well mixed in. Be careful to leave spices in the pot. Leave a little space in the cup to add that splash of soy milk, and enjoy.
