This was the most complete brew kit I've bought to date. They included bottle caps and sanitizing solution.

This was the most complete brew kit I've bought to date. They included bottle caps and sanitizing solution.

I checked the beer stash this weekend, and it is depressingly low. There’s no way I’m going to get through the holidays with only one case of homebrew on hand! It’s time to get busy brewing again, and now that the weather is cool I don’t mind getting the kitchen all steamy.

Back in July I had picked up a kit from the Cape Cod Beer supply store to make their Cape Cod Red, and yesterday Hubby and I started brewing it. This was by far the most complex brew I’ve tried to date, with three types of hops and Irish moss each added at different times during the boil. We had near catastrophe with the grain sack, too, when it burnt to the bottom of the pot and ripped when I tried to remove it. I used a fine mesh sieve to scoop out as much of the loose grain as I could get, and we’ll just have to hope for the best beyond that.

The potential alcohol pre-ferment was 8%, and I just checked on it to see that it has stared bubbling, which it has. I think that given the extra bits that need to settle out thanks to the grain sack malfunction, I’m going to let this brew sit a full two weeks before bottling.

Now, this is going to make things a bit too tight for Thanksgiving. I want more than one brew around, and I don’t want to wait two weeks before getting something else going. So I’ve decided to head out to my favorite brew supply shop, the Brewer’s Apprentice, this week to get another brew kit (maybe the Chocolate Stout?) and an extra fermenting bucket. That way I’ll have at least two batches ready before Thanksgiving, which might hopefully be enough beer, but given the way my cousins go through beer, I might be wise to attempt a third.

