Things here at the Homestead are a little strained today, as we wait to see what the bank did with the deposits we made yesterday. Two paychecks (half the month’s budget) were deposited yesterday, but did not show up in our account. We’re not alone, though, as many of TD Bank’s customers have found that their recent deposits have been “delayed” by a computer glitch. I am shopping for a new bank, and as soon as TD Bank finds our money, we’re getting it the heck out of their hands. I think we’re going to go with a local bank that has it’s national headquarters less than half a mile up the road at a comfortably walkable location.

Here’s some stuff that caught my interest this week:

  • Zombie Subdivisions. This is James Howard Knustler’s favorite vision of the future. Incomplete subdivision projects in the greater Atlanta area are being abandoned by the developer or foreclosed on by the banks.
  • RSOE EDIS Emergency and Disaster Information Service. I am tempted to make this map my new homepage! One map shows all the disaster alerts around the globe. I discovered it while reading various tsunami reports after the Somoan tsunami this week, and I find it fascinating.
  • Change Starts at Home. This website is a showcase of women who are working towards global change, and as the title implies, they are doing it by starting at home. I am so thrilled to find a site devoted to us.
  • Confessions of a Homeschooler. I don’t homeschool my kids, but I have thought about it. My career wouldn’t allow it, and yet I often wonder if my creative, adventurous, curious children would be better off outside of the traditional school environment. This article provides some nice, honest insight into the reasons, benefits, and downsides to homeschooling.
