I found a good use for all those strawberries I froze back in berry picking season.

I found a good use for all those strawberries I froze back in berry picking season.

I was poking around the net a few days ago, and I came across a recipe for Orange Julius on Tammy’s Recipes. I have found memories of Orange Julius from my childhood, though I never really had a clue what went into one-it was one of life great mysteries to my young self.

My own kids have never had one, I’m sad to say. There’s very few Orange Julius stores left around here. I decided to whip these up as an after school treat today. The kids are starting to come down with my cold, and so I figured this would be a fun way to get them a big dose of vitamin c. But I didn’t want to give them milk (it makes us all snotty), and I didn’t have any bananas around…so we went for a vegan strawberry version. This has less sugar than the linked recipe, as well as a few other changes. They came out great, tasting like a berry tinged dreamsicle.

Vegan Strawberry Julius
makes 1

  • 3 tbs orange juice concentrate
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 heaping tbs sugar
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup or so frozen strawberries
  • 4-6 ice cubes
  1. Combine everything except ice in a blender and blend until well combined.
  2. Add ice and blend until desired consistency is reached. Pour into a big glass and enjoy.
