Most of the yard has been neglected in the past month, but the mums do look lovely.

Most of the yard has been neglected in the past month, but the mums do look lovely.

Autumn has come here, and the leaves are just starting to turn. It’s soccer season, and with two kids playing and one team to coach, I have less time to spend around the house than I did this summer. Things are starting to go to pot, and the frequent soaking rain storms we’ve had are not helping.

I took a little survey of the yard this morning, and it isn’t pretty. I fell off the 30 minutes a day wagon back at the start of September, and so the weeds have started to move back in, the autumn crop of kale has been reduced to lace thanks to aphids, and the wisteria has gone to war with the climbing roses. I think I’ll try getting back into the groove again starting next week, but switching my outdoor time to the afternoons, when it’s a little warmer and I can coerce the kids into helping me. I’m going to revert to posting daily updates of my activity outside, if only to keep myself from slacking!

Thing 1’s diet plan is going well. She’s dropped 3 pounds, which puts her on the right track to be at the weight the doctor wants to see in November.  She’s actually enjoying it, and it seems that making Sundays into a diet break day for her was a good idea. She now looks forward to her weekly treat, rather than expecting big treats daily. She’s also getting lots of exercise now that soccer season has started, especially since her coach (moi) doesn’t cut her any slack.

Thing 2 has played his first ever soccer game. He’s quick and agile, but he has yet to fully wrap his head around the game. That’s okay, though. He’s only 6! He told me that his coach said he’s not allowed to smile during games, and that he’s supposed to make a mean face to scare the other team. Hopefully the other teams will be frightened by the dopey grin of a little boy having the time of his life, since that’s mainly what he gave them:

Thing 2 is in white. I don't know if you can see his dimples with the photo at this size, but trust me, they're there.

Thing 2 is in white. I don't know if you can see his dimples with the photo at this size, but trust me, they're there.

I’m just at the tail end of a nasty little cold, and when I finally kick it completely, I plan to get my rear in gear and post more frequently. October is usually a big month for us, so there will be a lot to share, including hiking, baking, getting the house ready for Halloween (our favorite secular holiday), soccer games, and home improvements. So bear with me just a few more days as I allow myself to recover fully from this cold, and then we’ll pick up the pace here.

