The walls look so nice with the new color. The old not-quite-pink shade of white brought nothing to the party.

The walls look so nice with the new color. The old not-quite-pink shade of white brought nothing to the party.

This past weekend at the Homestead, we tackled a Big Project. The living room/dining room has finally been painted! It took us 5 years to find the right color to use, and the room finally looks right.

To paint this intimidating space, we choose to use Bungaloo color liquid in Corinne (which is a mild, warm yellowish hue). Bungaloo color liquid is no voc, which is an important criteria for me, and it is sold in the sort of plastic bottles that laundry detergent comes in. I’m generally pretty good with words, but even I can’t fully explain how awesome buying paint in plastic bottles is. You don’t have to fight them open, and you can twist the cap back on to seal them. They pour into the paint tray with no drips. It’s clean, fast, and oh-so-tidy:

See the small bottle on the left? That's the bottle of paint.

See the small bottle on the left? That's the bottle of paint-the drips happened in transit when UPS treated my package without respect.

The color liquid goes on like a dream. I covered the entire room completely in one coat, in one day. It dried well in a pretty short time, and with the paint in bottles, clean up was a breeze.

If you've ever wondered how Crazy paints, she tackles the biggest room in the house using only a 2" brush and an edger.

If you've ever wondered how Crazy paints, she tackles the biggest room in the house using only a 2" brush and an edger.

Bungaloo is a local-to-me company, located in norther NJ. They do things a lot better than most paint companies I’ve tried. I was able to order small samples of a few colors at $3.95 each to test on the walls (which saved us from painting the whole room in the too orange Brooke, rather than the just right Corinne). Ordering was a breeze, and the paints arrive the next day. The paint kit included a detailed analysis of the paint ingredients, which is something I’ve never seen a company provide. My only issue was that the estimating tool guided me to order more paint then I used, so I have 2 full bottles leftover to gift a friend or paint the basement.

As for the color liquid itself, I think it’s the most perfect paint I have ever used, and I have used a lot! I majored in theater in college and spend most of my time painting sets. I know paint, and this color liquid is good stuff. I’ll be placing another order today for color liquid for the kitchen.

