Today is Hubby’s birthday, so Happy Birthday Honey! To honor him today, I’m going to do a little plug here for his new book. Pax Morgana is the first part in a fantasy trilogy that tells the tell of mythic Britannia after the fall of King Arthur. It’s available in paper back ($14.95) or for the kindle ($4.99). If you enjoy reading dark fantasy, then this is a good one to check out. I’ve read the first draft of Pax Arcadia, the second in the series, and that one is also a fun read.

Onto this week’s links. The list is a little light, mainly because I’ve spent most of my free time caressing the new fridge rather than surfing the net!

  • Run Izzard, Run and Run Again. Comedian Eddie Izzard, one of my new personal heroes, runs 43 marathons in 50 days. Some are criticizing Izzard for taking as long as 10 hours for some of the 27 mile runs, but I have to wonder how many more people would be willing to tackle the challenge of a marathon if success wasn’t tied to a difficult time limit? I say good for him, and if he can do it, I bet I could, too.
  • Political Correctness Baffles Dalai Lama. I have been often heard talking about the power of words, and I do believe that our choice of words can have an influence far beyond what is intended. But political correctness is something else–using special words designed to be least offensive. I agree with the Dalai Lama, here. Short is short, tall is tall, and black and white are description of skin color, not a judgement on character.
  • Holy Grail of the Unconscious. I haven’t studied Jung much, but after reading this I plan to. Jung’s Red Book, a diary of his descent into his own unconscious mind, is being scanned and translated for publication. The family has been protecting the book for decades, and only a few people have ever read it. The book, and the story surrounding it, sound fascinating.
  • The Marshmallow Test. A researcher administers the classic marshmallow to test to children, with video of the little ones trying to resist the temptation. The marshmallow test studies delayed gratification-young kids are given a marshmallow and told that if they don’t eat it while the researcher is away, they’ll get a second marshmallow when she returns. They can then choose one marshmallow immediately or two marshmallows in the future. Watching the poor little things trying to hold up their will power is cute, but the test is not all about fun. Children who demonstrate the ability to wait are reported to be better adjusted, more dependable, and score an average 210 more points on scholastic aptitude tests.
