These glazed apple muffins are better then cinnamon buns, I promise.

These glazed apple muffins are better then cinnamon buns, I promise.

A few years ago I tried following Ayurveda, and though I found it hard to follow the ideal diet for my dosha, I felt really good while I was doing it. So I’ve decided to give it a try again in the hopes that increasing my well-being will decrease my odds of catching one of this year’s nasty flus. So this month’s issue of Yoga Journal, which has an article and recipes for Ayurvedic breakfasts, was just what I needed. I’ve been eating a lot of the Coconut Oatmeal Porridge, which has been doing me right. This Sunday I decided to make the Apple Spice Muffins, both for a break and as a treat for Thing 1 and the friend who had spend the night.

And I screwed them up.

I forgot about the Sucanat (natural sugar) until the moment I was putting the muffins in the oven, at which point it was too late to add sugar to the batter. I went ahead with baking them and then added sweetness to the muffins in the form of a generous maple-syrup glaze.

They came out amazingly good, reminding me of some maple-topped apple muffins Thing 2 and I had tried one early morning from a bakery in York Beach, Maine when we snuck out of our hotel room together and walked the sleepy beach town in the early morning. My little man and I enjoyed these delicious muffins on the beach alone, which is one of my more cherished memories. You can imagine how psyched I was to accidentally recreate the muffins in my kitchen.

Maple Glazed Apple Muffins
makes 12-14 small muffins or 6 gigantic ones

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 tbs ghee, melted (substitute butter if you must)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 apples, peeled and diced into 1/4 inch bits
  • 2 tbs maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • for glaze: 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 2-4 tbs maple syrup
  1. Heat oven to 375. Oil muffin tins or line with paper muffin cups.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder and salt together.
  3. In another bowl, combine milk, eggs, ghee, and vanilla.
  4. In yet another bowl, toss apple bits with maple syrup and cinnamon.
  5. Combine flour mixture with milk mixture and stir until just combined, Fold in apple mixture.
  6. Fill muffin cups to the top, then bake for 30 minutes or so until they are browning on top.
  7. Remove muffins from tins and put on a cooling rack. Cool for 5-10 minutes.
  8. While muffins cool, add maple syrup to powdered sugar 1 tbs at a time until desire consistency is reached. The glaze should be thinner than icing, but not runny. Dip muffin tops one at a time into glaze and set back on rack to allow extra to drip off…if you make the glaze too runny, it will all drip off. If the glaze is a little thick, the heat of the muffins will melt it and help it spread.
  9. Serve just as soon as the glaze starts to set. You can save leftovers in an airtight container, but don’t be shocked if all the glaze has been magically absorbed into the muffins by the following morning.
