The weather here for the past week has been hot and humid. It’s been so muggy that clothing hung out to dry doesn’t! These conditions are great for mosquitoes and cicadas, but it makes me sleepy and grumpy…and also exceptionally lazy, so there’s been little of note happening around the Homestead. Hopefully the weather will break this weekend, and I’ll feel more comfortable outside and more inspired to write posts here.

Here’s a few links for you to check out while we wait for nicer weather:

  • Try something eight times before you give up. Good advice that dates back to Robert the Bruce, who gained insight into persistence while watching a spider spinning a web in a cave off the Irish coast. The spider failed 7 times, but succeeded on the eight. I heard this story when I visited the King’s Cave on the Isle of Arran, which is one of several caves claiming to be the home of the famous spider.
  • Setting up a homework zone. It’s back to school season here at the Homestead, and one thing we’ve been talking about is where homework will be completed this year. Thing 1 has her own desk, but Thing 2 likes to do his work in front of the TV. We’re going to help him develop a better system this year.
  • Self, Meditating. I have considered attending a silent meditation retreat before. Heck, there have been times when I have considered running off to spend a week as a hermit in the mountains! This op-ed piece removes a lot of the romance, and makes me wonder if I could handle all that silence, and if so, how it would change me.
  • Driver crashes through Lakewood bus shelter. I am a big fan of public transit, but here in NJ we’re just doing it wrong. Who would want to ride the bus when this sort of thing can so easily happen to the “shelters” at bus stops? (I wish this was an isolated incident, but it’s not. At least this one was empty.)
