Thing 1 volunteered to try a free capoeira lesson. I was so proud of her for having the courage to try something so new in front of a crowd.

Thing 1 volunteered to try a free capoeira lesson. I was so proud of her for having the courage to try something so new in front of a crowd.

Apologies for going so many days without a post. This week is incredibly busy! My sister is home from Kyrgyzstan for a week before heading back to grad school, the weekend included a few outings to the local festival, and we’ve begun the back to school shopping, so I’ve had little time to think Deep Green Thoughts to share with you.

I realized this weekend that I am aging. The festival that was once the fun highlight of my summers is now a hot and crowded chore. The rides are a rip-off, and there’s so many that I’m now too scared to go on (funny how a diagnosis of a heart defect can change what looks fun for you). Every other both is a local businessman trying to lure me in (I don’t need a new realtor, financial planner, internet provider, or bathtub, but thanks for the offers). But my kids looooooooooooooooove going, and I do enjoy the once a year zeppoli well made by little old Italian men.

One good thing we learned at this year’s festival is that a new yoga and dance studio has opened nearby. Most of the local places offer Bikram classes, and the heat just does not work for my body. This place does not warm the rooms so extremely, and they also offer some cool things like belly dance and capoeira. Saturday mornings they have two simultaneous kids groups which would work for both my little ones, and this might be something we try once soccer season ends. Thing 1 sure seemed to enjoy the capoeira!

