This photo is the only harvest I'll be getting from this plant. These tomatoes are gone.

This photo is the only harvest I'll be getting from this plant. These tomatoes are gone.

My garden was ransacked last night. The thief left hoof prints in the dark soil. Deer ate all but three of my peaches, all the best of my tomatoes, and all of the blueberries. I am discouraged, disheartened, and dismayed.

The local government has been discussing what to do about the deer for a few months now. The herd has grown larger than the nearby green park can support. The deer have been going onto properties adjacent the park and stripping gardens there, but they had not ventured so far afield as the homestead. That they would come into my yard so far from the park and with the strong odor of two large dogs and strip my garden shows either that they are getting more desperate for food or that they have good taste in food and don’t mind risking their lives to eat my peaches.

Either way, I am now leaning towards supporting a cull of the herd. (Hubby has volunteered to participate in the cull, but I think it should be left to experienced experts). Going forward, plans will be drawn up to fortify the homestead against future assaults. Next year, I am going to serve my tomatoes to my family, not the local deer herd.

