The goldfinches have found my window mounted birdfeeder. The cat has already face planted against the window twice trying to get them.

The goldfinches have found my window mounted birdfeeder. The cat has already face planted against the window twice trying to get them.

The wet muggy weather continues here in NJ, and I am finding it hard to motivate myself to go outside to work in it! I focused my effort yesterday and today on weeding out portions of the back patio, since those area dried faster and were less muddy than the rest of the yard.

I came to a realization today. My efforts are producing 3 big cans of debris each week, which is going out with the rest of the trash because I lack the facilities to compost that sort of volume here on my lot. This represents a lot of my yard’s biomass and soil value being carted away to the landfill. Tonight I am going to talk it over with hubby to see if we can’t come up with a way to accommodate a big compost heap tucked away somewhere in the yard so we can stop wasting so much valuable material.

I also realized something else: I can only be relied on to do a good job of patio weeding for about 15 minutes. After that I get sloppy and start leaving too much root behind. So from now on I am limiting myself to 15 minutes of patio weeding daily, and I’ll find other things to do with the other 15 minutes that don’t involve squatting and grabbing at those nasty little weedies and feeling like Gollum.

