My volunteer sunflower has opened up and revealed a lovely orange-dusted blossom.

My volunteer sunflower has opened up and revealed a lovely orange-dusted blossom.

We’ve had a few rainy days here, which has made it hard to get much done outside. I tried to get out both Sunday and Monday, but between the wet everything, muddy soil, muggy air, and aggressive mosquitoes, I didn’t accomplish much.

This morning I headed out into bright sun but wet plants and ground. The seeds I ordered last week are here (though the mushrooms are not), and decided to spend some time clearing space in the veggie patch for the new goods. A lot of the older lettuces had bolted up and gotten rubbery, so removing them was the logical place to start. A few seemed like they might still be good eatin’, so I cleaned them up and stuck them in the fridge for tonight’s dinner. (While I generally think food tastes better if it hasn’t been in the slammer, I make an exception for summer lettuce. A few hours in the fridge can help return limp leaves to crispy.)

I got a lot of space cleared, so hopefully the ground will be something other than muddy tomorrow, and I can start sowing the seeds. I am really eager to see what the huazontle tastes like!

