A freshly bakes scone topped with blueberry marmalade is one of my favorite ways to start the day.

A freshly bakes scone topped with blueberry marmalade is one of my favorite ways to start the day.

It’s been a long time since we’ve enjoyed fresh scones here at the Homestead, so I decided to whip up a batch this morning. I wanted to use some of that culinary lavender I picked up at the Atlantic Spice Warehouse, and I usually cut the recipe with while wheat flour to make brown scones…so I made Lavender Brown scones. As a huge fan of the Harry Potter books, this makes me smile.

Lavender Brown Scones
makes 12-14 decadent scones

  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 heaping tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbs dried lavender buds, culinary grade
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine buttermilk, cream, egg, and sugar and beat until well blend.
  3. In another bowl, mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, and lavender buds. Beat flour mixture into milk mixture until well blended, then mix in butter.
  4. Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface. Roll out to 1/4″-1/2″ thick. Using a glass dipped in flour, cut out round scones. Move scones to baking sheet. (I line mine with a silicone liner, but it’s probably not necessary. These scones don’t stick.)
  5. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until tops just start to turn brown. Alternatively, you can cook them like pancakes on a skillet over low heat for 5-9 minutes each side, though this tends to scorch the outside and not be as pretty.
