This persnickedy little fellow would not let me prune the butterfly bush. He even defended the dead branches for a while.

This persnickety little fellow would not let me prune the butterfly bush. He even defended the dead branches for a while.

Hubby took the day off work today to recover from a hectic few days of business travel, so I put him to work in the garden with me this morning. For 2 1/2 hours we removed wisteria and morning glory from the plants around the porch and then laid mulch around the beds. I trimmed more roses back while he hunted down every last wisteria runner.

This area had become quite overgrown with grass as well as the vines over the last year, so I decided to do my version of sheet composting. Before spreading the mulch, I laid out cardboard (over the weedy inedible strawberries) or newspaper (over the grass) to smother the unwanted plants and let them compost in place beneath the mulch:

I think this spot might soon host a rain barrel.

I think this spot might soon host a rain barrel.

I also accomplished a few other small tasks, such as planting a lavender bush near the front door, securing some climbing roses to the trellises around the porch, and removing another unwelcome sapling that was hiding my beloved Harry Lauder’s walking stick. The area around the porch now looks clean, if a little sparse in places. Now I just have to decided if I want to use the bare spots to grow food or some nifty ornamental plants-blueberries or oak leaf hydrangea? I can’t decide.

