Apple honey ale served up with Tofu kabobs, melon, slaw, and fresh corn.

Apple honey ale served up with Tofu kabobs, melon, slaw, and fresh corn.

Yes, the brew was ready eons ago. I wanted to try it immediately after vacation, but Hubby had a head cold and *gasp* had lost interest in beer. Then I got the head cold, and though I still cared dearly for my brews, I could not really taste much of anything. After that, hubby went away on a little business trip, and it didn’t feel right to taste a brew for the first time alone!

Tonight, finally, we were able to kick back and sample the ale. And it is good. Really good.

When you hear Apple Honey Ale, you might think this is a really fruity and sweet drink, but that would be incorrect. This beer is a medium brown ale with complex flavors. The apple appears briefly just at the start of the finish, and if you don’t know it’s there you won’t know exactly what you’re tasting. I suspect the honey gives the beer it’s complex taste, though it could also be from the apple extract flirting with you through the whole sip.

I think we’ll be enjoying this brew for the rest of the summer and perhaps into the fall, if it lasts that long.

