A cicada hanging out in my garden.

A cicada hanging out in my garden.

This morning was my most pleasant yet. Sundays are so quiet around here, and I could enjoy the sounds of the birds without any interruptions from the noise of traffic.

I spent my time this morning weeding the patch of irises around my beech tree. Every year this patch gets invaded by a tall grassy weed, and this year there was also a bumper crop of maple seedlings. I managed to clear the extra guests from about half the patch, and I also discovered two welcome volunteers: a holly seedling and some trillium. Yeah!

There was also another guest vacationing among the irises, and he/she was so neat I dragged Thing 1 and 2 out of the house to see him. We get a lot of cicadas around here, but it’s rare to see one this close.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to the farmer’s market!

