Wonderful dark Blueberry Spice Jam cooling on the counter.

Wonderful dark Blueberry Spice Jam cooling on the counter.

Blueberry season is going strong here at the Jersey Shore, and I could not resist getting a case to make some jams. Not too long ago I could have gone and hand picked them locally, but my picking spot is now out of business, and though those bushes are still out there bearing buckets of unpicked berries, I’m not the trespassing sort.

But when I saw Jersey Fresh berries for sale at the local supermarket, I loaded up the cart with berries, pectin, and extra jars and rushed home to get to work. Twelve dry pints (one case) of berries produced three batches of jams, with one pint leftover for tomorrow’s breakfast. I made two batches of Blueberry Spice Jam, which is the blueberry recipe included in the Ball powdered pectin box with a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon added, and one batch of Blueberry Lemon Marmalade.

I’m not going to go through all the steps again, but if you missed my first jam post and want to see the process, it’s here: Strawberry Jam Session. Just remember a few key things, and all will be well when you undertake your own canning adventure:

  1. This isn’t brain surgery. The process is easy but time consuming. Have fun.
  2. Hygiene is important, so make sure your jars, utensils, and hands are clean.
  3. Hot jam is really hot, so use care when handling it. Protect your hands, and of course, your feet, unlike me. Again:
Do as I say, not as I do.

Do as I say, not as I do.

