A rose by any other name would still be just as much of an attention whore.

A rose by any other name would still be just as much of an attention whore.

This morning I decided to tackle another oft-neglected garden chore: dead-heading the roses.

The previous owner of the Homestead clearly loved roses and planted them everywhere. There are more than a dozen roses scattered around the yard, most in various states of hopeless decline. Much as I love roses, and much as I love my garden, I am simply too lazy to properly tend these terribly needy plants. I prefer a permaculture approach to the garden-plants should require a minimal amount of basic care and be able to mainly fend for themselves once their basic needs have been met. Fancy-pants roses can’t do that.

And yet I can’t bring myself to uproot them, either. Roses are soooooo pretty! Since I’ve pledged to spend 30 minutes a day working the garden, I figure I’ll give tending the roses another shot. This year, though, I think that may mean cutting some of them back to the ground and starting from scratch. The wisteria and morning glory vines have really done a number on a few of them, and there are few healthy shoots left to prune back to. These roses are over near the planned rain garden, so if they don’t survive the pruning it will only be making room for some blueberries, right?

