My lunch today was leftover slaw with sliced baked tofu and a few cherries.

My lunch today was leftover slaw with sliced baked tofu and a few cherries.

Along with local corn, another treat I watch for at the summer farmer’s markets is local cabbage so that I can make big batches of my favorite slaw. I serve this stuff with grilled Gardenburgers, tofu hot dogs, baked tofu, BBQ seitan…just about any grilled or baked protein, really. I suspect it would be especially nice with fish grilled with a ginger glaze, but as I don’t eat fish, I have not tested this out myself. This slaw is more like an Asian slaw than a traditional mayo-covered slaw, and the variety of veggies combined with dried cranberries and walnuts, provides a big dose of vitamins and good fats.

Cranberry Walnut Cole Slaw with Honey Sesame Dressing
makes lots and lots

  • 1/2 head green cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 head red cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 large red onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and grated or julienned, if you like
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (add more to taste)
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnut pieces (add more to taste)
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 tbs tahini (sesame paste)
  • 2 tbs toasted sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tbs tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 2-3 tbs honey (adjust to taste)
  • salt
  1. Combine cabbages, onion, carrots, cranberries, and walnuts in a big bowl.
  2. Put Canola oil, tahini, sesame oil, vinegar, tamari, and honey in a blend and whirl until just combined. If you overdo it, the dressing will be more of a dip than a dressing as air gets whipped into it, so stop just after things come together.
  3. Pour dressing over slaw and toss to coat. Add a little salt, and toss again.
  4. Let sit for at least 30 minutes before eating to let the flavors combine. You can cover and refrigerate overnight, but try to eat within 3 days of making.
