This week’s batch of links is pretty small. I haven’t spent much time exploring the internet due to a busy week at work, and most spare time has been devoted to restoring peace around the Homestead after being away.

  • Laundrylist.org. What a strange world we live in where people need to fight for the right to dry their clothing on a line. As an Urban Planner, I’ve heard of Right to Farm laws, but it never occurred to me that we would ever need Right to Dry legislation. It appears that we do.
  • Help Save the Earth, Time to Substitute Hemp for Oil. I think it’s time the US seriously reconsidered it’s attitude towards industrial hemp production. Many of our founding fathers grew this versatile plant seeing it as a valuable asset to their community. It can be used to create fiber (paper, rope and cloth), fuel (methane, methanol, and gas), food, and medicine. It’s a hardy grower and remediates the soil it grows in, making it an ideal candidate for brownfield remediation work. Our single minded view of the whole plant as evil because one breed of the plant can be used in a socially undesirable way is like cutting off our nose to spite our face.
  • Tough economic times spark rise in preserving foods. I see I’m not the only one whose picked up canning as a skill in recent years. I noticed today that the local stores are stocking big bins of Jersey blueberries, so maybe this weekend I’ll put up some blueberry jam!
  • Handmade Gift Guide. I usually start planning my holiday gift making about now, and there are some nice ideas here…I might just have to try out some of those things on myself.
