I found this burrow in the yard this morning.

I found this burrow in the yard this morning.

We arrived back at the homestead very, very late last night…or to be more accurate, very very early this morning. There are piles of half-unpacked luggage everywhere, and I will be doing laundry for the rest of my life. The garden has gone wild, and it seems everything shot up by over a foot while we were away.

And something moved in under the house. Judging by the size of the tracks and burrow, my guess is it’s a groundhog. Twelve days without the usual canine sentinels must have been long enough to let this fellow feel comfortable in my yard. Big mistake.

I’ll be picking up my two big dogs later today, and then we’ll see if the groundhog feels like hanging around. I figure I’ll give him through the night to move on, and tomorrow I’ll fill up the hole. Hopefully the presence of two large dogs will be enough to convince him it’s time to move on, but if not I have access to a trap, so he’s going one way or another.

