Yesterday was a big milestone for Thing 2: he rode his bike by himself without training wheels for the first time ever. We celebrated with a family ride around the little neighborhood we are staying in. Life is good.

Here’s a few things that caught my eye this past week:

  • A “time bomb” for world wheat crop. This sort of thing keeps me up at night. Ug99, a fungus commonly known as stem rust, is wreaking havoc on the wheat harvest in Africa, and could destroy as much as 80% of the world’s wheat crop as is is spread to other continents. Can we adapt our crop to resist it before it reaches the American Midwest? If only Jack Bauer were a plant breed and geneticist!
  • Who wants a Tesla When You Can Drive an Electric ’49 Bentley By Tom Dixon? This is my dream-to take a classic car and convert it to run on a sustainable fuel. Electric is good depending on how you make your electricity, though I scheme to run my dream car on french fry grease. And I want to convert a Ford Model A Pick-Um-Up like this one, only in green or robin’s egg blue.
  • Lettuce From the Garden, with Worms. NTY Op-ed columnist Nicholas D. Kristoff on the state of our agricultural industry. The picture he paints is not pretty, and the concerns he raises are among the many reasons I grow my own and buy from local farmers. I have no good relationship with large argi-farms, but I love the guy who grows my greens and the chap who sells the local grass-fed dairy’s cheeses.
  • Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies. If you make these for a PTA bake sale, you will be remembered as a hero.
