Thing 2 lines up a shot.

Thing 2 lines up a shot.

As I type this I am sitting in the kitchen of my parent’s house in Eastham, Mass. I am quite happy to be here. I would live on the Cape year round, if only I could figure out a way to make a living in the savage tourism economy here, but as it is I have to be content with one week a year and the occasional long weekend.

The trip up was one of our easiest to date. We made it up here from the Jersey shore in 7 hours, which is great time when you’re traveling with two children, who treat a road trip as a tour of every restroom on the route. Planning the road trip for mid-week seems a good plan, as there was very little vacationer traffic on the roads with us. Also, we saved both time and money by packing some simple pb&j sandwiches for lunch, which left us all with big appetites for dinner.

Tonight’s dinner was at The Red Barn. This place is a favorite with the kids, and I like it because it has decent pizza (not good by New York area standards, but pretty good for Cape Cod), a nice assortment of side salads, and Cape Cod Red beer on tap. They have a classic-style mini-golf course; i.e. no gigantic blue-tinted waterfalls, but the standard loop-de-loop hole and a 12′ tall bunny in overalls. There’s an arcade and a gift shop stuffed with kitchsy tourist collectables. This is our favorite place to let the kids unwind after spending several hours trapped in the car.

