This is where we'll be staying.

This is where we'll be staying.

The kids are at their last day of school today. I am getting things ready for our departure tomorrow. I can’t wait. I need a vacation!

We plan on heading up early tomorrow. The drive to Cape Cod takes anywhere from 6-10 hours, depending on conditions in Connecticut. I hope ot be having dinner at one of the family’s favorite Cape haunts tomorrow night!

As we go through the next week and a half, I’ll be posting about the ways we make our vacation local. Wherever we travel, we seek out the locally owned and operated businesses, which is a great way to really get to know a place. As for the Cape…well, I’ve been there every summer for the last 30 years and spent two summers working there, so I know fairly well which local places really shine.

One of our recurring goals there though is to find a new gem each year, so we’re going to try out a few new spots. I’ve been looking forward to visiting the Cape Cod Beer Brewery to pick up one of their beer recipe kits. We may also take a day trip to Martha’s Vineyard, which is something that I’ve never managed to do in 30 years of Cape trips. We’re going to try to visit Fiona the Yellow Lobster at Arnold’s Clam Shack. Maybe we’ll see seals, spot whales, or rescue and diamond back terrapin again, like we did last year. There will be swimming, boating, hiking, biking, and shopping to share with you starting tomorrow afternoon.

But for now, I have a lot of packing and prep work to do!

