A sandwich in a soft pretzel roll makes me happy.

A sandwich in a soft pretzel roll makes me happy.

Yesterday I made pretzels with Thing 1 and Thing 2, and we had a happy accident. I used the recipe over at Frantic Home Cook, but I put in too much yeast-the recipe called for 1 1/2 packages, and I added the equivalent of 2 packages (a total of 2 1/2 tsp of yeast). Oops.

The pretzels came out a bit poofier than expected, and were more of a pretzel flavored roll than a traditional soft pretzel. They were good eating, but not exactly what we had planned on. This was a slight disappointment, until it occurred to me that these puffy pretzels might make for a good sandwich roll.

Hubby took one to work for lunch. His review: “I love you, I love you, I love you.” I think that was aimed at me, but he may have been talking to the sandwich. He then followed up with: “I sure hope you’re blogging about this. This is a really neat turn on things. Seriously. It’s a sandwich in a gxx-xxxxed pretzel. I feel like I won some kind of award, just eating it.”

So here I am, blogging about it. For my own lunch I took a pretzel roll, stuffed it with ricotta, mozzarella, Romano, thinly sliced red onions, and green olives. Then I grilled it on a pannini press. Do you know what happens when you grill a pretzel roll that has was previously covered in melted butter? Do you???? It gets more awesomer. I’m thinking about making these in stead of regular rolls for this year’s Thanksgiving.

