This upcoming weekend promises to be hectic. We’re hosting Thing 1’s birthday party here tomorrow-I’ll be teaching a pack of girls how to bake and decorate cupcakes from scratch. Then Sunday is Thing 1’s actual birthday as well as being Father’s Day, and I am making dinner for her, Hubby, my father and his father. Somehow in the background I have to bottle the Apple Honey Ale and get things in order for our vacation, which starts in the middle of next week. There’s never a dull moment in the Homestead.

  • Red Neck Garden. I love this! What a great way to use discarded tires! I have one in my shed, and I think I’m going to find a place in the yard to use it next year. I bet if the ground around the tires were planted with some flowering ground cover, this could be a functional and attractive reuse project.
  • How to Compost Without Raising a Stink. One thing I would add here: if you are concerned about odor, don’t add anything in the cabbage family to your pile. That stuff smells like a rotting corpse as it breaks down.
  • How to Improve Your Productivity When Working From Home. Most of my work as an Urban Planner is done from my home office. The tips here are good for anyone trying to work form home, but are also good productivity tips in general, regardless of where or how you work.
  • TED Talks: Jared Diamond on Why Societies Collapse. When I read Jared Diamond’s book Collapse, I developed an appreciation for how our current consumer lifestyle was dangerous. It cannot be sustained, and an unsustainable culture must either collapse or adapt. I choose to adapt.
  • The Story of Stuff. This is a short documentary outlining our production/consumption system. My opinion is that we need to replace this destructive and unsustainable system with one that is more sustainable. While much of the work needs to be done in the industrial sector, it is possible to make a impact by running our homes with greater efficiency and self-sufficiency. That is my end goal with developing my own Suburban Homestead.
