Hubby and I have taken the day off work to get ready for tomorrow’s yard sale. I intend to make a brutal purge of all the extra stuff lurking in the basement and generate cash for the upcoming vacation. I’d rather have a week of fun than a dungeon of unused stuff! While I go through my basement, you can check out these things I found poking around online:

  • Gardening for Health Wealth and Independence. A look at how one blogger built an attractive food garden in a small suburban yard.
  • Guy Starts Dance Party. One guy with all the wrong dance moves but all the courage to do them big inspires a crowd to join him. This video clip shows that of one person brave enough to do their own thing can start a whole movement. I love that the song he’s dancing to is called Unstoppable.
  • The Loneliness of the Long Distance Debtor. This post at Get Rich Slowly compares training for a marathon with following a plan to get out of debt. There are some good thoughts in here on thinking long term and sticking to a plan, whether it’s physical or financial fitness you’re aiming for.
  • Yard Sale Tips for Success. I am hoping that this weekend’s yard sale will be a success for us…and by that I mean bring in enough cash to help pay for all the donuts we can eat when we get to Cape Cod at the end of the month.
  • Delicious Homemade Vodka Sauce. This is great stuff. My mother in law loves vodka sauce, so I made this for her that last time she visited. My family left no survivors for the next day’s lunch.
  • Mark Bittman on what’s wrong with what we eat. The standard American diet hurts us twice. First, the meat and corn based diet does not provide proper nutrition for good health, hence the rise in so called lifestyle diseases (heart disease, diabetes, some cancers). Second, the meat and corn based industrial food production system is harming the environment we rely on for life.
