Leftover chili and desperation tortillas combine to make dinner a treat.

Leftover chili and desperation tortillas combine to make dinner a treat.

I had planned to make burritos with the leftover chili tonight, to ward off the evil damp weather we’re continuing to have, but then I discovered that I had forgotten to buy tortillas this week. After a minor panic, I realized this is not a problem. This is a challenge. I have never made tortillas, but tonight was a good time to try!

Fresh balls of dough waiting to become tortillas.

Fresh balls of dough waiting to become tortillas.

Thing 1 and I found a simple recipe in a cookbook she’s borrowed from the library: Honest Pretzels, by Mollie Katzen. It didn’t look too difficult for we two kitchen warriors to tackle.

First we mixed flour, salt and water to form a dough, then cut the dough into four balls. Each of these little balls was rolled out into large flat rounds by Thing 1 (she did an excellent job), then cooked on a hot skillet by myself. The recipe only makes 4 tortillas, so we made it twice to get eight nice big tortillas for dinner.

I filled each of these with a mixture of black beans and corn that was leftover from earlier this week mixed with a little salsa. These were put in a baking dish and topped with the leftover chili and some shredded cheese. The whole lot went into the over to bake at 350 for about 35 minutes (I don’t really time things so much as neglect them until they smell done). And just like that, the chili leftover from last night became a new and interesting meal.

