Today's lunch, fresh from my kitchen garden.

Today's lunch, fresh from my kitchen garden.

“I know how good I have it here.” That’s what I tell anyone who tries to tempt me away from my comfortable job situation. I work for my father, and he lets me work out of a home office. This lets me be here after school for my kids (and that makes up for spending so many evenings out at zoning hearings). It also lets me eat lunches at home easily.

During gardening season, my lunch often comes right from the garden. There’s little better than dining on fresh foods that have never know the cold bite of the inside of the fridge. Today’s lunch included leftover Little Italy Pasta from The Three Dollar Dinner Cookbook, which featured homegrown arugula, olives from the farmer’s market, and a salad of mixed baby greens and nasturtium petals plucked fresh from the garden.

How can you beat that? And how can the produce section ever be as much fun to shop in as this:

This is my kitchen garden. I love it.

This is my kitchen garden. I love it.

