This week has sure been a hectic one at the Homestead. The kids have been given new chore charts to motivate them to get their homework, music practice, and extra learning tasks done daily. I have had a busier then normal work week, and I’ve also worked hard to keep the blog posts flowing.

Despite the hectic pace of the week, I did manage to find a few things of interest to share with you:

  • Great Vegetarians From History. Thing 1 has been dealing with a little teasing this year about her vegetarian diet from a new girl in school. The other kids quickly squashed the new girl–they’ve been around our vegetarian daughter for 4 years now, so her diet is nothing odd to them. But she was a little rattled, and we’ve since spent some time talking about the many great people who also choose to not eat meat.
  • Carolyn Steel: How Food Shapes Our Cities. As an urban planner, I found this talk fascinating.
  • Less is More-The Half Christmas Tree. Treehugger seems to think this is a good idea, but I think it’s crud. Real trees are better than fake, both environmentally and for the ambience they provide. Either have a tree, or don’t, but half a tree seems like a lame compromise.
  • Pumpkin Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting. Just as soon as I can find an appropriate occasion, I’m making these wonderful looking treats.
  • Dealing with Difficult People. Sometimes when I am testifying at a planning or zoning board hearing, I run up against the “What’s Her Problem?” person. These people, sometimes board members, sometimes members of the public, really push my buttons. The temptation to fight fire with fire is enormous, but the results would be bad for both my self and my clients. I am always on the lookout for tips on how to better control my reaction to these difficult people, because while I cannot control their behavior, I must control mine.
